Albany's Historic Whaling Station
Looking out from the well-worn flensing deck, the view of King George Sound and its islands is breathtaking. The quiet tranquillity is in sharp contrast to the noisy, steamy, and very odorous scene from its past. The whaling station, which operated here from 1952 to 1978, is now a fascinating historic site, in which the stories of the teams of men who worked on the whaling ships and in processing the catch, bring the place to life. The Historic Whaling Station Collection includes a large photographic collection. Some of this rich visual material can be seen in the Colin Green Heritage Gallery, named after the community-minded businessman who first proposed that the Green Family donate its asset of the abandoned whaling station to the Jaycees Community Foundation to preserve this important industrial heritage. The site, and its fascinating displays, is now one of Albany’s most popular tourist attractions.